Veggie Love

When it comes to food, I like to keep things simple, but with lots of flavour.  Over the past year, my eating habits have changed, such that I’ve become almost-vegan.  I say almost, because I still eat farm fresh eggs…and the occasional bit of dairy when I treat myself to some chocolate.  With my upcoming move, I haven’t been taking the time to cook elaborate meals.  When my father came to visit a few weeks ago, I took advantage of the fact that I had someone else to cook for, and made a few of my favourites.  Here is my recipe for a very simple Ratatouille.  I am quite happy that it was made exclusively with local organic veggies — even the parsley was picked from my slightly-pathetic herb garden.  I served it for dinner with quinoa, and the next morning I used some of the leftovers in an omelette.  I was able to stretch it to yet another dinner for two, this time served with arugula and avocado.  I don’t have any photos of the fully-plated meal, but here is how it looked in the pot – fresh & delicious!

Simple ratatouille, ready to enjoy!

Ratatouille

1 red onion

1-2 cloves garlic, minced

1 red pepper

mushrooms

1 zucchini

1 summer squash

1 large eggplant

1-2 tomatoes

1-2 handfuls of fresh parsley and/or cilantro, chopped

salt & pepper

Large dice all the veggies (about 1cm square), but keep them separate.  Start by heating some grapeseed oil in a large pot (I love using my Le Creuset pot for meals like this).  Add the onion, red pepper and garlic.  Saute over medium-ish heat (you don’t want to brown/burn the veggies).  After a few minutes, add the mushrooms.  Allow the mushrooms to cook down a bit, then add the zucchini and summer squash.  A few minutes later, add the eggplant.  Give everything a good stir & continue to cook, stirring occasionally.  You want the veggies to soften, but not get too mushy.  Once everything is almost done, add the tomatoes and chopped parsley/cilantro.  Season with salt and pepper.

Leave a Reply

